Lloyd Gill Gallery – Weston Super Mare

One place I don’t get to very often is Weston Super Mare, so after coming across a new exhibition being launched at the Lloyd Gill Gallery, I suddenly felt ashamed that I hadn’t been in a long while!

The Lloyd Gill Gallery is a little gem, tucked away in the lovely back streets, full of beautiful old Victorian buildings.  Set up in an old house, this long established space is wonderful.  It has stripped floor boards and big light windows.  The exhibition space is mainly situated in the two large front rooms and the hallway.  Director, Lloyd Gill, told me that the gallery exhibits Artists from all over the world, not just the local area.

With a warm Saturday night welcome and a nice glass of red wine on offer, I started to meander through the rooms.

The space is filled with an eclectic mix of pieces from various artists under the collective title of “Undo the Tangible”.  A full essay on the exhibition as a whole and the artists taking part is available to download from their website and has been extensively written by Lloyd.  I’m not much of one for essays, I like to just see and feel my own way around.

All the Artists are listed at the end and full details can be found on the Lloyd Gill Gallery’s website.

As with all my reviews, my curious interest is mainly in the way artwork is presented to the public.  It’s just my thing (and my business!).  In writing up these experiences, I hope to reach out to artists.  I want them not only to think about their wonderful creations but also about how they package and present these to potential buyers.  This also applies to the hosts of exhibitions such as galleries.

I really liked the way one of the artists had displayed their photographic pieces.  Photographs were mounted onto board (looked like foam board but could have been a mount board).  It had no frame but was presented simply and I thought that this was perfectly fine and suited the work.  The subject matter had a lot to say, so didn’t really need any added complications to the surround.

Julien Guibreteau’s pieces were really very clever and I probably enjoyed viewing these the most.  Kasia Turajczyk’s collection drew me in, I couldn’t work out whether it was the sometimes dramatic brush stroke backgrounds or that I’m just terrified at the thought of a set of puppets and toys smiling back at me!  Which probably says more about my brain than hers!

As with most exhibitions (even Museums!), I’m afraid that some of the pieces could have benefited from either; some professional framing or just a little more attention to detail from the artist.  Some of the frames had black bits inside & glass was slightly unclean.  Sorry!  This is not supposed to be a criticism, more of a bug bear.  I personally wouldn’t pay over £300 for a piece of work that hadn’t been presented as well as it could have been, even if I loved the work.

By this I mean, not that you should have to pay for expensive framing but if you are fitting the work yourself, take a little more time to get out those bits of fluff or clean the glass properly.  Yes, it does take longer but it will make a difference to your work!  At some price levels, you could easily build it into the cost.  Actually I think you could probably charge more if it looks really well presented & compliments your piece.  Before anyone shouts at me and if you are a first time reader of this blog, please see one of my early pieces on the subject, I hope it will help you see where I’m coming from.

Having spoken to lots of art buyers in my game over the years, it can put some people off buying, more than you think, especially if they think they are going to have to spend money out on re-framing the piece.

To sum up then.  It’s really worth a visit to this exhibition and it ends on the 11th of May 2012.  The space is lovely and there are lots of new exhibitions planned for this year.  I urge you to spend a bit of time getting lost in the work and the knowledgeable and friendly owners will no doubt be on hand to answer any questions you may have.

I look forward to the next one!

Artists:

Louise McNaught
Joe Webb
Julien Guibreteau
Irene de Buffieres
Kasia Turajczyk
Alissa Cohen Solal
Chris Barnickel

Gallery details:

The Lloyd Gill Gallery, 13 Beaconsfield Road, Weston Super Mare, BS23 1YE

Open: Mon-Sat 10am-4.30pm

Leave a Reply

